Giridih Tourism


Parasnath hill which is 4431 ft height is the highest mountain south of the Himalayas. It is located at the latitude of 23 degree, 9 minutes North and longitude of 86 degree ,3 minutes East. Madhuban, village which lies in Pirtand Block has a famous temple believed to be more than 2000 years old. It is a place of considerable religious importance for the Jain. The Samosharan temple and Bhomiyaji Asthan are two very famous Jain temple. There is a Jain Museum at Madhuban which houses a number of Jain scriptures, Idols and manuscript .One can view the clear sight of Parasnath Temple using the telescope installed at the balcony of the museum.

How to Reach

The Nearest Railway Station is Parasnath(PNME) on Howrah -Mugalsarai Grand chord line. It is about 20 km from Parasnath railway station. Taxi, Mini Bus etc are available for this place.

History of Giridih District

History of Giridih District is a part of the history of its parent district, Hazaribagh as well as also of the Chota Nagpur Plateau. The entire territory of Chhota Nagpur, known as Jharkhand was believed to be covered with inaccessible hills and forests. Though this region was in touch with many parts of India, yet the non-Aryan tribes who resided here had no king. The inhabitant of Chota Nagpur decided to elect a king due to regular foreign invaders and Mundas became the king of the state. As per the history of Giridih District, Chota Nagpur division including the district of Giridih appears to have remained unexploited. The succession of Akbar to the throne of Delhi in 1556 AD opens a new chapter in the history of Jharkhand. To the Mughal Emperors it was also known as Khukra. During that period, the region was first introduced as revenue administration of Mughal. The conquered provinces as they were then called were formed into a British district which comprised Ramgarh, Kendi, Kunda and Kharagdiha (which together constituted the old district of Hazaribagh comprising Giridih) and the whole of Palamu. Subsequent to the Kol rising in 1931 which, however, did not seriously affect Giridih, the administrative structure of the territory was, however, changed. These provinces became part of the Southwest Frontier Agency and were formed into a division named Hazaribagh, with Hazaribagh as the administrative headquarters. In 1854 the designation of the south-west Frontier Agency was changed to Chota Nagpur and it began to be administered as a Non-regulation Province under the Lieutenant Governor of Bihar.

Geography of Giridih District

Geographically, Giridih District is broadly divided into two natural divisions, namely the central plateau and lower plateau. The central plateau touches the western portion of the district near Bagodar block. The lower plateaus have an average height of 1300 feet, their surface being undulating. In the north and north-west, the lower plateaus form fairly level tablelands until they reach the ghats when they drop to about 700 feet. The district comprises vast forests which are uniformly distributed. Sal is the most famous and predominant species of trees found here. Among other common species are bamboo, simul, mahua, palas, kusum, kend, asan piar and bhelwa. Giridih District is divided into two main water heads - Barakar and Sakri rivers. The district is rich in mineral resources and it has several large coal fields which contain one of the best qualities of metallurgical coal in India. Mica is found extensively in this district, which is of importance not only to Jharkhand but to India and other countries also. It is mostly found near the blocks Tisri and Gawan.

Tourism in Giridih District

There are several popular tourist attractions in Giridih District. The sightseeing options offered by the district are simply worth visiting. The travellers visiting this district can also have an adventurous experience with the options available. The important tourist attractions of Giridih District are Usri Fall, Khandoli, Madhuban, Parasnath, Jharkhandi Dham and Harihar Dham. As per Census 2001, the total population of Giridih District is 19,01,564. The 13 community development blocks of Giridih District are Giridih, Gandey, Bengabad, Pirtand, Dumri, Bagodar,Sariya, Birni, Dhanwar, Jamua, Deori, Tisri and Gawan.